Get Adobe Flash player

Ashta Maha Siddhis

Eight primary siddhis
  • Anima: reducing one’s body even to the size of an atom
  • Mahima: expanding one’s body to an infinitely large size
  • Garima: becoming infinitely heavy
  • Laghima: becoming almost weightless
  • Prapti: having unrestricted access to all places
  • Prakamya: realizing whatever one desires
  • Istva: possessing absolute lordship
  • Vastva: the power to subjugate all
The eight siddhis hinted at by Kapila in his Sutra are as explained.
  • Uuha: based on the samskaras of previous births the attainment of knowledge about the twenty-four Tatwas gained by examining the determinable and the indeterminable conscious and the non-conscious constituents of creation,
  • Shabad: knowledge gained by associating with an enlightened person (Guru – upadesh),
  • Addhyyan: knowledge gained through study of the Vedas and other standard ancillary texts,
  • Suhritprapti: knowledge gained from a kind-hearted person, while engaged in the spread of knowledge
  • Daan: knowledge gained regardless of one’s own needs while attending to the requirements of those engaged in the search of the highest truth,
  • Aadhyaatmik: freedom from pain, disappointment, etc; arising due to lack of spiritual, metaphysical, mystic knowledge and experience,
  • Aadhibhautik: freedom from pain etc; arising by possessing and being attached to various materialistic gains,
  • Aadhidaivik: freedom from pain etc; caused by fate or due to reliance on fate.

The attainment of which eight siddhis makes one become rid of pain-causing ignorance through gain of knowledge, and experience bliss. The aim of Samkhya is to eliminate all kinds of physical and mental pains and to receive liberation.